The 17th Annual Plaquemine July 4th Hometown Celebration was recently held at the Mark A. “Tony” Gulotta Bayou Plaquemine Waterfront Park and celebrated America’s 241st year of independence.

The event included the famous boat parade honoring veterans, live music from the Eddie Smith band, children’s games and activities, vendors, dancing on the boardwalk and closed with a fireworks show.

The Plaquemine Lock Historic Site and Iberville Museum each were free and open to the public for tours from 3-7 p.m.

After the boat parade, which featured an event-high 40 boats, this year’s eight Grand Marshals were honored by attendees.  The eight Grand Marshals for the 17th Annual July 4th Hometown Celebration were: Karen Askins, US Coast Guard; Nick Louis, U.S. Army; Harry Vercher, U.S. Air Force; Roy Zito, Jr., U.S. Army; Robert Landry, U.S. Air Force; Lyman “Lonnie” Marchand, U.S. Navy; Lonnie Michel, U.S. Air Force; and Ronald Porch, U.S. Army.

“We are here today to celebrate our nation’s birthday,” Plaquemine Mayor Ed Reeves said.  “But just as important we are here to honor the men and women of our community who have given their time and many of them who have given the ultimate sacrifice, their life, to defend and to protect what we are celebrating today: our freedom.”

The grand marshals and those in attendance then tossed roses into Bayou Plaquemine in honor of fallen Veterans.

The celebration was held on July 4 from 3 - 9 p.m. and is sponsored by the City of Plaquemine Main Street Program.

In addition, the City of Plaquemine would like to thank the following for their support of this annual event: the Dow Chemical Co, Shintech Louisiana, SGS Services, Turner Industries, A. Wilbert Son’s, Axiall-A Westlake Company, SMF Flopam, Essential Federal Credit Union, Plaquemine Bank & Trust, Citizens Bank, Iberville Bank, Iberville Insurance Agency and Bayou Fabricators and Machine Works.

Additional thanks to: Festival Coordinator Lorraine Hidalgo, Plaquemine Public Works staff, city COO and Public Work Director Richard Alleman, Plaquemine Utilities Dept., Plaquemine Police Dept., Plaquemine Fire Dept., Acadian Ambulance, Plaquemine Finance Dept and Director Laurie Berthelot, Knights of Columbus Council 970 and Ralph Comeaux for the fireworks show, Parish President J. Mitchell Ourso, Jr. and the Parish Council, Iberville Sheriff Brett Stassi and the IPSO staff, Daigle Ice, Clear Choice Communications, Butcher Boy Food Store, Pastor Butch LaBauve and the River Ministries, Sloane Florals, Antiques & Fine Gifts, Ellie Hebert/Peacock Communications, Mr. Johnny Wilbert, Rev. Christopher Capaldo, Belinda Buquoi and Richelle Richardson and other event volunteers and staff.