Candidates for several offices with representation in Iberville Parish signed up for the October 14 election at qualifying held July 12-14.

According to Louisiana Secretary of State Tom Schedler, Steve “Pine” Smith-Democrat, of Plaquemine, was the only one to qualify for the District 5 seat on the Iberville Parish Council and will run unopposed.

The seat opened after former District 5 council member “Ed” Reeves was elected Mayor for the City of Plaquemine.  His wife, Anne Reeves, is currently finishing out Ed’s term in his stead.

Candidates for Treasurer are: “Ron” Ceaser-Independent, of Opelousas; Angele Davis-Republican, of Baton Rouge; Derrick Edwards-Democrat, of Harvey; Terry Hughes-Republican, of Lafayette; Joseph D. Little-Libertarian, of Ponchatoula; Neil Riser-Republican, of Columbia; and John Schroder-Republican, of Baton Rouge.

Three candidates qualified for the District 2 seat on the Public Service Commission.  They are: Damon J. Baldone-Republican, of Houma; Craig C. Greene-Republican, of Baton Rouge; and Lenar Whitney-Republican, of Houma.

The race for the House of Representatives District 58 seat will come down to four Democrats.  The seat was formerly held by Ed Price of Gonzales, who was recently elected to serve on the Senate seat vacated by former Senator Troy Brown.

The four candidates are: Miguel D. Aubert of Vacherie, “Ken” Brass of Vacherie, Adrienne Ricard Conish of Gonzales and Alsie Dunbar of Gonzales.

Three candidates, all Democrats, will race to fill the recently vacated seat of the 18th Judicial District Court Division A formerly held by Judge James Best who announced his retirement in March.

The term ends December 2020 and Division A primarily falls in the Pointe Coupee area. The three candidates are: Lonny Guidroz of Jarreau, Kevin Kimball of Port Allen and “Steve” Marionneaux of Livonia.

In races with three or more candidates, if no one receives more than half the vote Oct. 14, the top two will compete in a Nov. 18 runoff.

Residents must register to vote by Sept. 13 in person or by mail, or by Sept. 23 at, to cast ballots in the primary election. Early voting runs from Sept. 30 through Oct. 7.