The Iberville Parish District Students of the Year selected on Wednesday, Jan. 30, were Elementary Student of the Year, Percy Floyd Cox, Iberville Elementary; Middle School Student of Year Emily Falencki, MSA-West and High School Student of Year Kennedy Dupree, MSA-West.

Superintendent P. Edward Cancienne, Jr. was the featured speaker. He posed with each student for a personal photo and thanked the parents, teachers, and administrators for assisting the students in their quest for success.

"Everybody in this room reflects team," Cancienne said. "I love the way these students spoke on behalf of others. You didn't take the spotlight. You gave it to those who have helped you. This is what education is and what we want it to be in Iberville Parish."

The district winners were selected after review of their applications by retired teachers who served on this year's selection committee. These students will also compete in the regional awards this spring. The competition is a program of the Louisiana Department of Education and the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education.

In addition, at the awards ceremony, the school system honored all school level Students of the Year, sponsoring a ceremony and reception for parents and friends.

Each student gave a brief presentation about themselves and received plaques and gifts from their schools during the ceremony held in the Optional Education Center auditorium in Plaquemine.

The program is designed to recognize outstanding elementary, middle/junior high and high school students.

Honored at the event were Elementary School Honorees: Crescent - Madalyn Saurage; Dorseyville -Tyler Foster; East Iberville -Celeste Jones; Iberville - Percy Floyd Cox (District Winner); North Iberville- Amarien Favroth; MSA-East - Ryan Bromfield and MSA-West - Aniya Lagarde.

Middle School Honorees: East Iberville - Alexis Kador; MSA-East - Coral Acosta; MSA-West - Emily Falencki (District Winner); Plaquemine - Elizabeth Anderson and White Castle - Columbus Willis.

High School Honorees: East Iberville - Marlana Stewart; MSA-East - Xuan Tran; MSA-West - Kennedy Dupree (District Winner); Plaquemine - Ben Cavalier and White Castle - Tyla Thomas.

The honors program, patterned after the Louisiana Teacher of the Year Awards Program is an excellent opportunity to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellent academic achievement, leadership ability, and citizenship. This year's District winners advance to the Regional Student of the Year competition with interview competition scheduled later this spring.

Special features of the ceremony included Plaquemine High School's Junior ROTC's Presentation of Colors and the MSA-West Ensemble, led by Dr. Michael Berthelot, playing the Star Spangled Banner and two classical music pieces.

AlNita Miller, Curriculum Supervisor/Secondary Schools, served as Mistress of Ceremonies. She thanked John Bueche, who recently retired, for his work on the Student of the Year awards. Dianna Outlaw, who is the principal of the Optional Education Program, served as organizer of the event.

The decorations were provided with the volunteer assistance of Terry Gallagher and Jo Ann Carline and the program was designed by Cryister Overton.