St. John Middle School was recently named a National Beta School of Distinction by the National Beta Club. This national award is given to a school for its commitment to academic rigor and preparation of students for college and career readiness. The National Beta club is committed to “recognizing and promoting high academic achievement, rewarding and nurturing worthy character, improving student leadership skills and encouraging service to others.” Displaying the banner the school received are President Zoe Bertrand, Secretary Samantha Fleniken, Vice-President Elizabeth Bueche and Treasurer Sarah Caballero. Beta sponsors are Dori Harris and Lesa Sanchez.