LAKE CHARLES, LA –Ten Louisiana municipal governments – White Castle, Plaquemine, Natchitoches, Bossier City, Sterlington, Grambling, New Llano, Patterson, Bastrop, and Monroe – took home Community Achievement Awards, the Louisiana Municipal Association's most prestigious award for outstanding municipal improvements and accomplishments. 

The top honors of the night went to the Town of Jean Lafitte, who took home the LMA’s 17th Annual “Best of Show Award” for its “Phase III of the Fisher Basin Tidal Levee Protection Project.” 

This initiative completes the final phase in a ring protection levee that will protect almost all of the town’s government and civic buildings, schools, health center, fire department, police station, three churches and over 300 residential homes from tidal flooding. 

"The Community Achievement Awards show that these municipalities have put a lot of hard work and dedication into bettering their communities," said Mayor Lawrence Henagan (DeQuincy), LMA Immediate Past President. "I commend the winners on their foresight and vision. The competition through the years has really gotten pretty tough and this is a nice reward for hard work." 

The City of Plaquemine earned an honorable mention won the top award in the Community Development category for its City Park improvement project while the Town of White Castle 

was the winner in its division for its splash pad and pavilion project. 

The announcement of LMA’s Community Achievement Awards was made Thursday night, August 2, at the annual banquet of LMA's 81st annual convention at the Lake Charles Convention Center. The convention drew some 1,500 delegates, spouses, dignitaries - including Governor John Bel Edwards - exhibitors, and guests. 

The LMA's annual awards program recognizes municipalities for outstanding achievement in basic services, community development, and economic development. Within these categories, awards are presented in four population subcategories. 

"The Community Achievement Awards mean a lot to the cities," said John Gallagher, LMA Executive Director. "Many folks, when they develop their projects, do so with the idea of entering it into the Community Achievement Awards competition, so there is a lot of thought that goes 

into the development of projects with the hope of being recognized by the LMA. It's like the Academy Award for Louisiana municipalities. These folks are very proud and we're proud to recognize their efforts." 

Entries submitted were judged by a committee of judges from Louisiana Economic Development, Louisiana Industrial Development Executives Association, Capital Region Planning Commission, the Louisiana Main Street, and the Louisiana Office of State Fire Marshall. 

LMA is a unified voice for Louisiana’s municipal governments. Our mission is to advocate, educate, and empower local governments to efficiently and effectively serve the citizens of Louisiana. There are 305 LMA members consisting of 127 villages, 111 towns, 65 cities, and 2 parishes.