Iberville Parish School Board recognizes Principals of the Year

Plaquemine Senior High School principal Chandler Smith and Iberville elementary principal Dawn Washington were presented Principal of the Year awards by the Iberville Parish School Board at its regular meeting Monday. 
POST SOUTH PHOTO/Peter Silas Pasqua

PLAQUEMINE - The Iberville Parish School Board presented plaques to the system’s Principal of Year awardees at its regularly scheduled meeting Monday night.

Chief Academic Officer Elvis J. Cavalier presented the awards to Plaquemine Senior High School principal Chandler Smith and Iberville Elementary School principal Dawn Washington.

“We want to commend you for the outstanding job you are doing for the children of Iberville,” Superintendent Dr. P. Edward Cancienne said.

Smith is in his second year at Plaquemine after teaching stints at MSA-West, Christian Life and The Dunham School. Washington is in her first year at Iberville and previously was principal at North Iberville Elementary and assistant principal at Dorseyville Elementary.

“You probably have the best principals in place ever in this parish,” Cavalier said.

In other news, facilities director Patrick Norris said the board has agreed to settle a lawsuit with Siemens regarding equipment that was installed at Dorseyville in 2004 but was never paid for because the performace contract had two stipulations.

Norris said the contract was null and void based on performance and it was agreed to be settled for $500,000 instead of the $750,000 balance.

“This is a violation of the law,” board member Tom Delahaye said.

The board also decided to install a subcommittee to decide who is eligible for incentive pay based on criteria regarding the master salary schedule.

School board members completing six hours of training to meet Act 705 requirements of 2011 were also recognized. All members have completed training except Delahaye.

Lastly, board member John Morris III requested that the White Castle High School Gymnasium basketball court be named in honor of former Bulldog coach Ronald “Sam” Johnson.

Johnson’s teams won three state championships, was runners-up six times and claimed 20 district titles during his tenure of 25 years.