Pointe Coupee Electric board members re-elected

Staff Writer
Plaquemine Post South
Pointe Coupee Electric board members recently re-elected include from left Peter Rumfola Jr. and George G. LaCour Jr.

NEW ROADS - Incumbents George G. LaCour Jr. of District 3 and Peter Rumfola Jr. of District 5 were re-elected without opposition to serve on the Pointe Coupee Electric Membership Corporation Board of Directors.

They began their new three-year terms at the meeting of the board immediately following the 75th Pointe Coupee Electric Annual Membership Meeting March 26.

The directors are elected by members from the seven districts comprising the service area of Pointe Coupee Electric. Directors must be Pointe Coupee Electric members who reside in the district they represent.

The seven directors comprising the Pointe Coupee Electric Board are responsible for managing the business and affairs of the electric cooperative. They exercise all of the powers of the cooperative except such as are by law, the Articles of Incorporation or the cooperative by-laws conferred upon or reserved to the members.

Pointe Coupee Electric is your local electric cooperative that has been providing services in Iberville, Pointe Coupee and West Baton Rouge parishes for over 75 years.