Iberville Parish Student of the Year Award Ceremony set for Jan. 30

Staff Writer
Plaquemine Post South

PLAQUEMINE - The Iberville Parish School System will honor 16 outstanding students from throughout the parish in the Student of the Year award ceremony on Wednesday, Jan. 30 at the Optional Education Center in Plaquemine.

Parents and community members are invited to attend the 5:30 p.m. ceremony and a reception immediately following.

During the ceremony, each student will be recognized and the District Students of the Year will be announced during the ceremony.

The program is designed to recognize outstanding elementary, middle/junior high and high school students. The awards for District Students of the Year have been judged by a panel of retired teachers from the district.

The honors program, patterned after the Louisiana Teacher of the Year Awards Program is an excellent opportunity to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellent academic achievement, leadership ability, and citizenship. This year's District winners advance to the Regional Student of the Year competition with interview competition scheduled later this spring.

The Student of the Year Awards Program is sponsored by the Louisiana State Superintendent through the State Department of Education and the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education.

At the program to be held in Plaquemine, the school level Student of the Year honorees to be recognized during the program are:

Elementary School Honorees: Crescent , Madalyn Saurage; Dorseyville, Tyler Foster; East Iberville, Celeste Jones; Iberville, Percy Cox; North Iberville, Amarien Favroth; MSA-East, Ryan Bromfield and MSA-West, Aniya Lagarde.

Middle School Honorees: East Iberville, Alexis Kador; MSA-East, Coral Acosta; MSA-West, Emily Falencki; Plaquemine, Elizabeth Anderson and White Castle, Columbus Willis.

High School Honorees: East Iberville, Marlana Stewart; MSA-East, Xuan Tran; MSA-West, Kennedy Dupree; Plaquemine, Ben Cavalier and White Castle, Tyla Thomas.