MSA-East students awarded at Law Day

Staff Writer
Plaquemine Post South

Essay, poster and video contest winners - including three students from MSA-East in Iberville Parish - were honored with Law Day awards last week at the Baton Rouge River Center Theatre.

The event is sponsored by the Baton Rouge Bar Association. The students were chosen by a distinguished panel of judges and were recognized and honored at the event.

MSA East winners capturing awards are Dwayne Bell with a 1st Place award for Senior Essay, the Digital Media class with a First Place, and Jamal Holland with an Honorable Mention in essay. The essay title was "Realizing the Dream: Equality for Everyone." First place winners were given certificates and $125 honorariums, and honorable mention winners, $25.

A total of 800 middle and high school students from 21 schools participated in the Baton Rouge Bar Foundation's Law Day celebration May 1. The celebration began with a naturalization ceremony with 40 immigrants becoming United States citizens, followed by the Law Day opening ceremony. 

The keynote speaker was Christopher K. Tyson, on "Equality for All," the theme of the event. The break-out sessions involved interactive discussions between the students, local attorneys, law enforcement and judges. Courtroom moderators lead the discussions on lessons pertaining to the ABA Law Day 2013 theme "Realizing the Dream: Equality for All." Lessons included: Realizing the Dream Today, Gideon v. Wainwright, Teen Curfew and Unfairness under the Law. 

The celebration concluded with a viewing of the posters and winning videos, a mock vote, the "Fatal Vision" program and Teen Court, Trafficking Hope and Family Values Resource Institute informational tables. 

Chairing the 2013 Law Day Committee is Elizabeth Spurgeon. Ryan Brown is the vice chair. Donna Buuck, Teen Court Coordinator of the Baton Rouge Bar Foundation, is the coordinator of the student event. Also participating were BRBA Executive Director Ann K. Gregorie and President Michael S. Walsh.

MSA-East faculty sponsors are Danielle Butcher and Janet Marionneaux.