MSA-West presented Magnet Schools of Excellence

Staff Writer
Plaquemine Post South
Attending the ceremony were a team of leaders from MSA-West's faculty including from left, Kelli Vaughn, Jeanne Bass, Candice Breaux, Elvis Cavalier, Tina Pate and Loren McIntyre.

Officials from the Math, Science, and Arts Academy West of Iberville Parish School System traveled to Tulsa, Oklahoma May 5-8 for the 31st National Conference on Magnet Schools Conference and received the Magnet Schools of Excellence, the highest award of recognition given by the Magnet Schools of America association.

"This is a very competitive process that awards only a small fraction of the magnet schools nationally," Magnet Schools of America Executive Director, Scott Thomas said. "These magnet schools are being recognized for demonstrating student achievement, innovative and engaging instruction and curriculum, community engagement, professional development, and a commitment to diversity. Schools that win our Merit Awards represent the best in education, innovation, equity and opportunity for all students in our nation."

To receive an award, schools must submit a detailed application that is scored by a panel of educators. There are two categories of merit awards: Magnet Schools of Excellence, the top award given to a group of select magnet schools, and Magnet Schools of Distinction, the second highest award of recognition.