Instilling knowledge: Iberville Parish School System announces Teachers of the Year

Staff Writer
Plaquemine Post South
Math, Science, Arts Academy - West teacher Keavin Keith mentors students in his classroom. Keith was recently selected Iberville Parish High School Teacher of the Year and will represent the school system in the 2014 Teacher of the Year Program at the regional awards in the ongoing competition. 

PLAQUEMINE - The 2014 Teacher of the Year Program for Iberville Parish got underway with an honor ceremony held May 10 to honor 17 outstanding teachers recognized for exceptional teaching and leadership abilities at the recognition ceremony.

They are Iberville Parish Elementary School Teacher of Year Chantel Distefano, Crescent Elementary School; Middle School Teacher of Year Claudia Brumfield, Plaquemine High School; and High School Teacher of Year Keavin Keith, Math, Science, Arts Academy-West. Keith was chosen to represent the Iberville Parish School System at the regional awards in the ongoing competition.

The Louisiana Teacher of the Year Awards Program, co-sponsored by the Louisiana Department of Education and the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, is an annual event designed to recognize, evaluate, and activate outstanding elementary, middle, and high school teachers throughout the state.

The program provides an excellent opportunity to recognize teachers from each local school system and to publicize the positive aspects of classroom teaching. Acts 134 and 308 of the 1986 Legislative Session mandate that public schools in Louisiana participate in this recognition program.

Statewide competition is part of a national awards program in which a National Teacher of the Year is selected. This program will honor teachers who have been selected by their respective faculties based on their performance throughout the 2012-2013 school year.

Congratulations to the following school winners: Crescent Elementary School, Chantel Distefano; Dorseyville Elementary School, Emily Carline; East Iberville Elementary and High School,

Rachel Heard - Elementary, Julia Breaux Jordan - Middle and Tracy Warren - High School; Iberville Elementary School, Allegra Lockett; Math, Science, & Arts Academy - East, Mary Grace Beavers - Elementary, Terri Hasten - Middle and Mary Ellen Day - High School; Math, Science, & Arts Academy - West,

La'Quita Magee - Elementary, Laura Nelson - Middle and Keavin Keith - High School; North Iberville Elementary, Terri Harris; Plaquemine High School, Claudia Brumfield - Middle and Patrick Schmit - High School and White Castle High School, Mervin Allen - Middle and Sharonda Williby - High School.