ELECTION UPDATE … Gulotta edges Ramirez for fifth mayoral term, Chuaffe granted second term as Grosse Tete mayor

Staff reports

Plaquemine Mayor Mark “Tony” Gulotta defeated former City Business Manager James Ramirez by less than 100 votes in unofficial election returns from Saturday, while voters in Grosse Tete elected Mike Chauffe to a second term as mayor against Phillip “Tunnie” Sarullo, the former officeholder.

Gulotta collected 1,483 votes against Ramirez’s 1,404 to win his fifth term as mayor. Gulotta picked up amid televised reports Saturday night that Ramirez had won the race.

Chauffe garnered 230 votes against the 163 for Sarullo. Chauffe, who earned his first term in 2004 with a two-vote win over Sarullo, who had served 32 years as mayor of the village in the northern part of Iberville Parish.

See the Oct. 9 edition of Post/South for comments and other details from the election.

In other elections Saturday, Iberville Parish voters overwhelmingly supported Fifth District Associate Supreme Court Justice Katherine “Kitty” Kimble in her re-election bid against Denham Springs attorney Jeff Hughes. Kimble picked up 7,387 votes against the 1,791 for Hughes. Kimble defeated Hughes 113,939 to 62,269 in the district-wide vote.

Voters also rallied for Fifth Congressional District U.S. Rep. Rodney Alexander, giving him 389 votes against the 53 for Andrew Clark. Alexander drew 27,715 votes across his district against 3,195 for Clark.

In the race for Grosse Tete Police Chief, incumbent Tommy Dardenne won with 231 votes against 130 for Lawrence Pate.

Voters also re-elected Mike Sparks as Rosedale Police Chief. He defeated Mark James 287 votes to 102.

In the District III Plaquemine Selectman race, Ralph Stassi Jr. topped former councilman Herbert Jefferson Sr. 368 votes to 120.

Voters in District V re-elected Plaquemine Selectman Timothy “Timmy” Martinez with 371 votes against Joel Ducote (189). Ducote had served an interim term on the board in 2004 after Ed Reeves won a seat on the Iberville Parish Council.

Dana Nereaux Alexander outdrew Jeffrey Hill 258 votes to 124 in the race for Division C alderman in the Village of Rosedale.

The winners in the race for Grosse Tete Board of Aldermen included incumbents Juanita Hill, Richard David, Lawrence David and Kyle Booksh.

Voters in Ward 1 elected former White Castle Alderman Roland “Roach” Fremin Justice of the Peace in Ward 1, while Jimmy Green and Alex Wright will face off in a run-off for the Justice of the Peace seat in Ward 2.

Incumbent Steve “Pine” Smith won by nearly a 3-1 margin over Angela “Coach” Gros for the Justice of the Peace post in Ward 3.

Joseph “Joe” Richard outdrew Keith “Keety” Kember for the Constable/Justice of the Peace post in Ward 1, while Lloyd “Big Red” Snowden took the win for constable/justice of the peace in Ward 2. Ronald Hebert took the win over Robert “Bobby” Johnson for the Ward 5 constable/justice of the peace seat, and Larry Johnson outdrew Eugene Simpson for the constable/justice of the peace in Ward 6.