Brusly honors public square, 16 other historic properties

Deidre Cruse
Laverne Sorrell, left, receives an historic marker from Mayor Joey Normand, center, and Jim Rills. Laverne and her husband, James, now operate the Romper Room Day Care in the building once known as the Herbert Jackson Home. Their property is one of 16 historic sites honored in ceremonies earlier this month.

Brusly residents and Town officials gathered earlier this month for special events to dedicate a State of Louisiana Historic Marker and to recognize certified Landmark Homes. 

Ceremonies began with the dedication of the marker at the intersection of East Main Street and Kirkland Drive (River Road).  The marker’s text recognized Molaisonville on one side and St. James Square on the other. 

Brusly Mayor Joey Normand welcomed those in attendance, while Shane Sarradet, member of the Brusly Landmark and Heritage Commission.  Joanne Bourgeois, Brusly Town Council Member, gave a brief overview of the historic site. 

Molaisonville was named for Jacques Molaisonville who settled on a Spanish Land Grant in the area of present day Brusly Middle School. The settlement that was named for him is now known as the Town of Brusly. 

A small triangle of land, bordered by Bourg Street, is all that is left of four blocks of land from which surrounded St. James Square.  The blocks, along with the square, were lost to levee setbacks leaving only the triangle. 

Later at Brusly Town Hall, Town of Brusly Certified Landmark Plaques were awarded to the owners of 16 historic properties:

-- Allen Aillet, Jr. for the “Wilmer & Gertie Penn Home.”

-- Wilfred Hebert, Jr. for the “Paul & Ann Mary Martin Home.”

-- Wilfred Hebert, Jr. for the “Robert Hebert, Jr. home”

-- Town of Brusly for the “Back Brusly Oak Tree.”

-- Earl Sarradet for the “Jack & Iris Sarradet Home.”

-- John Bres for the “Vaughan-Bres Home.”

-- Roxanne Morales for the “Willie LeJeune Home.”

-- Russ Bourgeois for the “Clifford & Pearl L. Thibodeaux Home.”

-- Dianne Martin for the “Joseph Feriol & Elmire Dupuy Home.”

-- Landess Hebert for the “Clay & Rita Hebert home.”

-- Landess Hebert for the “Furcy & Nettie H. Rodriguez Home.”

-- Landess Hebert for the “John & Leocadie Thibodeaux Home.”

-- Edith Owens for the “Edith B. & Jimmy Owens Home.”

-- Edith Owen for the “J. Harvey Blanchard, Sr. Home.”

-- Marjorie Labauve for the “Margie H. & Sanford “Polly” Labauve Home.”

-- James & Laverne Sorrell for the “Herbert Jackson Home.”

Copies of Brusly Landmarks, the book recently published by the Town of Brusly, were sold during after the ceremonies.

Ann Mary LaBauve Hebert and Edith Blanchard Owens show off the new historic marker denoting the remaining triangle of what was once the Town of Brusly’s public square. The marker is located at the intersection of East Main Street and Kirkland Driver (River Road). The public square originally was carved from four blocks closest to the river, but most of it was lost to levee setbacks.