BACK ON TOP!!! Tigers roar past Texas for sixth CWS National Championship

Michael Jacobs

A new championship era has dawned for LSU.

The Tigers (56-17) won their first College World Series Championship since in nine years with an 11-4 win over top-seeded Texas in third game of the College World Series.

The victory gave the No. 3-seeded Tigers their sixth national title and their first since their  win over Stanford under Coach Skip Bertmann in 2000. It also marked the first ever CWS win for second-year LSU coach Paul Manieri.

Jared Mitchell was named the Outstanding Player of the College World Series.

The first-round draft pick for the Chicago White Sox belted a three-run homer to right field in the top of the first to propel the Tigers.

A Ryan Schimpf single stretched the Tiger lead to 4-0.

The Texas bats that dominated the first two games were flat until the third inning of Game 3, when they added two runs to cut the Tiger lead in half. Texas tied the game with a Kyle Keyes two-run homer in the fourth.

Mike Mahtook pulled the Tigers out of a 4-all tie in the sixth with an RBI double that gave LSU a 6-4 lead. LSU continued its onslaught later in the inning when a Derek Helenihi sacrifice fly to left brought home Mahtook.

Micah Gibbs then scored on a Blake Dean bases-loaded walk when Dean was hit by a pitch.

A Sean Ochinko single to left then scored LeMahieu and Schimpf to put the Tigers ahead 9-4.

Ochinko went 4-for-4 with four runs. He finished with a two-run single and a leadoff homer in the ninth.

Ryan Schimpf bagged a sacrifice fly in the eighth that brought home Austin Nola, who reached base on a double to deep right.

Anthony Ranaudo allowed four earned runs, eight hits and walked five. He halted a Longhorn rally in the first when he closed the inning with a bases-loaded strikeout.

WELCOME THEM HOME … LSU baseball fans can welcome home the Tigers and savor the victory in a ceremony at 4 p.m. Thursday (today) at Alex Box Stadium. Admission is free.