CHAMPS!!!! LSU routs Texas for sixth CWS National Championship

Michael Jacobs

Omaha, Neb. - LSU has done it again!

The Tigers (56-17) won their first college World Series Championship since in nine years with an 11-4 win over top-seeded Texas in third game of the College World Series.

The victory gave the No. 3-seeded Tigers their sixth national title and their first since a win over Stanford under Coach Skip Bertmann, and the first ever CWS win for second-year LSU coach Paul Manieri.

Jared Mitchell was named the Outstanding Player of the College World Series.

The first-round draft pick for the Chicago White Sox belted a three-run homer to right field in the top of the first to propel the Tigers.

A Ryan Schimpf single drove stretched the Tiger lead to 4-0.

The Texas bats that outpowered LSU in a 5-1 Longhorn win Tuesday were flat until the third, when they added two runs to cut the Tiger lead in half. Texas tied the game with a Kyle Keyes two-run homer in the fourth.

Mike Mahtook pulled the Tigers out of a 4-all tie in the sixth with an RBI double that gave LSU a 6-4 lead. LSU continued its onslaught later in the inning when a Derek Helenihi sacrifice fly to left brought home Mahtook.

Micah Gibbs then scored on a Blake Dean bases-loaded walk when Dean was hit by a pitch.

A Sean Ochinko single to left then scored LeMahieu and Schimpf to put the Tigers ahead 9-4.

Ochinko went 4-for-4 with four runs. He finished with a two-run single and a leadoff homer in the ninth.

Ryan Schimpf bagged a sacrifice fly in the eighth that brought home Austin Nola, who reached base on a double to deep right.

Anthony Ranaudo allowed four earned runs, eight hits and walked five. He halted a Longhorn rally in the first when he closed the inning with a bases-loaded strikeout.

WELCOME THEM HOME … LSU baseball fans can welcome home the Tigers and savor the victory in a ceremony at 4 p.m. Thursday (today) at Alex Box Stadium. Admission is free.