Legion Post 167 holds installation/awards banquet

Candance Edwards
2010-2011 OFFICERS...Installed at the recent American Legion Post 167 Installation and Awards Banquet in Plaquemine were the organization’s new officers: front row, from left, Commander Jimmy Barbee, Third Vice Commander Ron Hall, Finance Officer Rodney Ducharme, Adjutant Barbara Thibodeaux, Committee Member Louis Sanchez, Committee Member Ralph Devillier, Sergeant At Arms Danny Gulotta, Chaplain Earl Devillier; and, second row, First Vice Commander Steve LeJeune, Second Vice Commander Danny Sanchez, Color Bearer Russell Gerace, Color Bearer Ronnie Rockforte, Committee Member Wayne Gomez, and Judge Advocate Thomas McCormick.

American Legion Post 167 held its annual Installation of Officers and Awards Banquet recently.

Special guest speakers were Parish President J. Mitchell Ourso Jr. and Plaquemine Mayor Mark “Tony” Gulotta. New officers were installed by Sixth District Legion Commander Terry Sharp and remarks were made by Post 167 Commander Jimmy “Chief” Barbee. Introductions and closing remarks were made by Tom McCormick and Chaplain Earl Devillier gave the invocation and the benediction.

Several Legionaire awards were presented to Post 167 members. Joe Cavet received the Paul Bunyon Award for his work for the Legion, while Vincent Pizzolato was presented an award for 65 years with the Legion. Nicholas Louis was honored for 50 years service, while Johnny Zito was awarded for 55 years and Randolph Willis for 54 years. Earl J. Perere was honored for 40 years.

The Legion also honored parish individuals for their service to the community as well as a trio of scholastic honors to high school students.

Parish Sheriff’s Dept. Officer of the Year went to Road Deputy David Whittenberg. Parish Volunteer Firefighter of the Year honors went to Lt. Timmy Roddy. Plaquemine City Police Officer of the Year was presented to Vic Hebert.

Sherri Pierce was honored as Parish Teacher of the Year.

A Plaquemine High School Schlarship Award was presented to Lynsi Vaughn. Kade Boudreaux was presented the St. John High School Scholarship Award. And Kolby Handy and Moneisha Jordan each received Parish JROTC of the Year Awards.

Barbee is the Legion Post commander, while Steve LeJuene serves as first vice-commander, Danny Sanchez as second vice-commander, and Ron Hall as third vice-commander. Finance Officer is Rodney Ducharme, while Adjutant is Barbara Thibodeaux. Earl Devillier is the chaplain, while Danny Gulotta is the Sergeant At Arms. Color bearers are Russell Gerace and Ronnie Rockforte. Thomas McCormick is Judge Advocate. Committee members are Rockforte, Allen Gaudet, Louis Sanchez, Ralph Devillier, and Wayne Gomez.

NOTE: Additional awards photos (Legionnaires, municipal employee, and student scholarships) from the banquet will be published in the near future.