Early voting in party primaries starts Saturday

DEIDRE CRUSE, Governmental Reporter

Early voting in the August 28 Democratic, Libertarian and Republican Party primaries in the U. S. Senate and 5thCongressional District races opens Saturday at the Iberville Registrar of Voters Office at the Courthouse, Registrar Melissa S. Bourgoyne announced.

Early voting is set for 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Saturday, and for the same hours Monday through Saturday, August 16-21. The registrar's office is on the second floor of the Courthouse.

Unaffiliated voters – those registered to unrecognized political parties or to no party – can vote in the Democratic and Libertarian party primaries, but not in the Republican contest among Franklin physician Nick J. Acardo, retired Louisiana Supreme Court Justice Chet D. Trayler and incumbent David Vitter.

According to the Secretary of State's Office, the Republican Party filed a written notice that its rules prohibit unaffiliated voters from participating.

“Unaffiliated voters will have the choice, so they need to be prepared,” Bourgoyne said. We will have sample ballots and instructions posted outside before they come in.”

The Democratic primary is a race for U. S. Senate among Nesson J. Chauvin Jr., Cary J. Deaton and U. S. Rep. Charlie Melancon.

Anthony Gentile and Randall Todd Hayes are running for the Libertarian Party nomination the party's first-ever primary here.

The Senate races are on the ballot parishwide. Any run-offs will be on a second party primary ballot on October 2.

Republican voters in Precincts 13A through 15, 16, 19 through 23, 26, and 27 through 32 will choose a nominee in Fifth Congressional District race between incumbent Rodney Alexander and Todd Slavant. The winner will face no-party candidate Tom Gibbs Jr. of Fairbanks in the November 2 general election.

According to Bourgoyne, Iberville has 21,136 voters eligible to vote in the August 28 primaries. The total includes 15,665 Democrats, 2,634 Republicans and 2,837 registered to other parties.

Bourgoyne directed voters who want more information to the Secretary of State's website,