Teacher of the Year Program set for March 30

Staff reports

Iberville Parish’s 2011 Teacher of the Year Program will be held Wednesday, March 30, 2011 at the Iberville Parish Alternative School (OP CENTER) beginning at 6 p.m.

 Louisiana Teacher of the Year Awards Program, co-sponsored by the Louisiana Department of Education and the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, is an annual event designed to recognize, evaluate, and activate outstanding elementary, middle, and high school teachers throughout the state. 

The program provides an excellent opportunity to recognize teachers from each local school system and to publicize the positive aspects of classroom teaching.  Acts 134 and 308 of the 1986 Legislative Session mandate that public schools in Louisiana participate in this recognition program.  The statewide competition is part of a national awards program in which a National Teacher of the Year is selected.  This program will honor teachers who have been selected by their respective faculties based on their performance throughout the 2010-2011 school year.  The ceremony will also feature the three District Teacher of the Year winners who will advance to the Regional Teacher of the Year competition.

The following are parish school winners:

Elementary School Division

Amy Dupre  – Crescent Elementary

Jessica Dominique  – Dorseyville Elementary

Kellye Carville – East Iberville Elementary

Ann Amorello  – Iberville Elementary

Jennie Morales – Math Science & Arts Academy West

Lacey Bueche  – North Iberville Elementary

Middle School Division

Christian Jones  – Crescent School

Terri Hasten-Fleming – East Iberville

Katie Dicharry – Math Science & Arts Academy East 

Leslie Hebert – Math Science & Arts Academy West

April Durand  – Plaquemine High School

Miyoshi Jones-Joseph – White Castle High School

High School Division

Theresa Jones  – East Iberville High School

Joanne Griffin – Math Science & Arts Academy East

Candice Breaux – Math Science & Arts Academy West

Jennifer Purnell – Plaquemine High School

Jane Green  – White Castle High School