NEWSPAPER OF THE YEAR: POST/SOUTH wins big in press competition

Staff reports
STAFF MEMBERS…hold the 14 first-place awards for 2010 won by the Plaquemine POST SOUTH at the La. Press Assn. banquet Saturday in Marksville. PS also won eight second-place, eight third-place, and six honorable mention awards. From left are Pressman John Gueho, Sales Representative Crystal Barrett, Operations Manager/Pressman Keith Byars, Governmental Writer Deidre Cruse, Office Manager Cheryl Jacob, and Press Assistant/Delivery Cory Wilming. Missing are Pre-Press Production Technician J.P. Keller and newcomer Sales Rep Jarred Wiggins. (Photo by TB)

The Plaquemine POST/SOUTH claimed Newspaper of the Year honors and 34 other awards in the Louisiana Press Association's Division 7 competition – including the editorial sweepstakes for “Best Editorial Staff” Saturday.

The designation as the Newspaper of the Year is based on the number of points earned in the Better Newspaper Editorial Competition and the Better Newspaper Advertising Competition for 2010.  The winners were announced at LPA's annual convention in Marksville.

In all, the POST/SOUTH won 12 first place awards, including those in “Best Editorial Page” and “Best Lifestyle Coverage,” plus nine seconds, seven thirds and six honorable mentions. The list included a dozen awards in the advertising competition.

Government reporter Deidre Cruse won the prestigious Gibbs Adams Award for investigative reporting for at least the fourth time.

POST/SOUTH Editor Tryve Brackin won first place awards for “Best Lifestyle Coverage,” “Best Sports Story” and “Best Sports Column”, “Best Sports Photo”, and shared honors with Cruse and contracted columnists for “Best Editorial Page”.

He also garnered a second place award for “Best Overall Sports Coverage”; third place awards for “Best Front Page,” “Best Photo Package” and “Best Sports Story,” and honorable mention for “Best Single Editorial” and “Best Sports Photo.”

Cruse won first place in two of the three main news-reporting contests. In addition to the first place award for investigative reporting, Cruse placed first and third in the “Best News Story” category, and placed second in “Best Continuing Coverage of a Single New Event” to the Plaquemines Gazette's coverage of the BP oil disaster.

John Dupont won a first place for “Best Feature Story,” and second place awards for “Best Headline” and “Best News/Feature Photo” for the newspaper.

The newspaper won second place awards for “Best News Coverage” and “General Excellence,” and third place for “Best Special Section.”

In the advertising competition, advertising representative Crystal Corkern Barrett and graphics designer Stephanie Hopkins won first and second places and honorable mention in the “Advertising Idea or Promotion” category, and second place in “Multiple Advertiser Page.” Hopkins also won an honorable mention in the latter category.

Hopkins took first place honors in the “Staff Generated Color” and “Best Retailer Ad” categories, second place honors for “Best Services Ad—Non-Retail,” and third place and honorable mention in “In-Paper Promotion”

The newspaper also won third place and honorable mention in the “Best Services Ad-Non-Retail” category.

The editorial contests range from article writing to photograph to graphic design, while the advertising entries were judged based on design, creativity and effectiveness.  The Kentucky Press Association judged both competitions this winter.

Seventy-nine newspapers, publications, and college/university student newspapers submitted 3,837 entries.

POST EDITOR…Tryve Brackin holds the prestigious Louisiana Press Assn. Division 7 Newspaper of the Year Award and the Editorial Sweepstakes Award won by the Plaquemine POST SOUTH for 2010.