Parish school system names Teachers of the Year

Staff reports

The 2012 Teacher of the Year Program will be held next Monday, March 19, at the Iberville Parish Alternative School (OP CENTER) beginning at 6 p.m.  

The Louisiana Teacher of the Year Awards Program, co-sponsored by the Louisiana Department of Education and the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, is an annual event designed to recognize, evaluate, and activate outstanding elementary, middle, and high school teachers throughout the state.  

The program provides an excellent opportunity to recognize teachers from each local school system and to publicize the positive aspects of classroom teaching.  

Acts 134 and 308 of the 1986 Legislative Session mandate that public schools in Louisiana participate in this recognition program.  The statewide competition is part of a national awards program in which a National Teacher of the Year is selected.  

This program will honor teachers who have been selected by their respective faculties based on their performance throughout the 2011-2012 school year.  The ceremony will also feature the three District Teacher of the Year winners who will advance to the Regional Teacher of the Year competition.

Following are the Iberville Parish system honorees:

Elementary School Division

Amanda Scivicque  – Crescent Elementary

Dionne Lewis  – Dorseyville Elementary

Kinya Heard  – East Iberville Elementary

Joshulan Allen  – Iberville Elementary

Jillian Dotson – Math Science & Arts Academy East

Loren McIntyre  – Math Science & Arts Academy West

Travis Durling   – North Iberville Elementary

Middle School Division

Tracy Warren – East Iberville Middle

Rebecca Polk  – Math Science & Arts Academy East    

Tina Pate  – Math Science & Arts Academy West

Donald Ray Johnson   – Plaquemine High School

High School Division

Erin Ragsdale   – East Iberville High School

Kristine Savoie  – Math Science & Arts Academy West

John Badeaux  – Plaquemine High School

Ira Anderson   – White Castle High School