Iberville Library millage renewed; Lionel Johnson remains St. Gabriel Mayor in March 28 election


According to the Louisiana Secretary of State in the unofficial results, the ten-year Iberville Parish Library millage tax was renewed as a result of the March 28, 2015 election.  The renewal was voted with 1,806 votes for and 515 votes against.  The tax pays for over 90 percent of the Iberville Library system funds, including salaries, books, DVDs, and summer programs for children.

         In St. Gabriel, Lionel Johnson, Jr., Democrat, retains his position as Mayor as he grabbed 763 votes over his only competitor, Democrat Ralph “Big Guy” Johnson, Sr., who totaled 251 votes.

         Voters in St. Gabriel also voted on Council Members for the City of St. Gabriel, and the five winners are: Melvin Hasten, Sr., Democrat leading with 563 votes, Deborah “Debbie” Alexander, Democrat, with 552 votes, Ronald “Ronnie” Grace, Democrat, with 453, Freddie “Carl” Frazier, Sr., Democrat, with 431 and Tressy Gleason, Neutral Party, with 405.