PHS Class of 1991 celebrates 25 years by giving back

Staff Report @ThePostSouth
From left: Gail Coleman, (PHS Class of '91); Genesis Bouvay, (book scholarship recipient); Nikita Pugh, (3rd place academic scholarship); Mia Jefferson, (2nd place academic scholarship); Imani Butler, (1st place scholarship recipient); Garrilin Skidmore,  (book scholarship recipient); Traylon O'Bear,  (book scholarship recipient); Charmaine Williams and Allisha Thomas (both are members of PHS Class of '91).

The Plaquemine High School Class of 1991 celebrated their 25th year since graduating by awarding $1,300 in scholarships to members of the 2016 graduating class at Plaquemine High School.  

Gail Lee Coleman, Allisha Price Thomas and Charmaine Williams represented the class of 1991 at the school's Senior Breakfast.  The scholarship recipients were as follows: Genesis Bouvay, Traylon O'Bear and Garrilin Skidmore all received $100 book scholarships. 

The third place academic scholarship recipient  was Nikita Pugh.  She received a $200 scholarship.  The second place academic scholarship recipient was Mia Jefferson.  She received a $300 scholarship.  

The first place academic scholarship recipient  was Imani Butler.  She was awarded a $500 scholarship. The PHS Class of 1991 presented the scholarships at the Class of 2016's Senior Breakfast which symbolically was held on May 17 the same date that the class of 1991 graduated from PHS 25 years ago.  PHS 1991 Class members were overjoyed to be able to return to their high school alma mater and give back.

“It gives the PHS Class of 1991 great pride and dignity to be able to return to our alma mater 25 years later and reinvest in the class of ’16,” Charmaine Williams of the Class of ’91 said.  “We got our start at PHS as alumni of that school and the Iberville Parish School System and it is our responsibility to give back.

“It is our hope that these awards will assist in furthering the recipients’ education.  We hope that the recipients are able to successfully matriculate in their respective career disciplines and become productive citizens of our society.”

The following are members of the Class of 1991 that donated to the scholarships: Brian Banks, Brandon Bridgewater, Lois Bridgewater, Kiefdkan Butler, Gail Lee Coleman, Gloria Dorsey, Lois Bridgewater Doyle, Ericka Hearns, Mary Deggs Hughes, Shannon Jackson Jeanbatiste, Eliska James, Catina Johnson, Ingrid Wilson Lawrence, Chad Lee, Sharmel Lewis, Brandon Mellieon, Takisha Mellion, Quandra Mosby, Makeba Phillips, Kendrick Pierre, Cedric Piper, Jerrold Roscoe, Christopher Sims, Mandracchia Henderson Sims, Allisha Price Thomas, Malcolm Wicks, Antoinette Johnson Williams and Charmaine Williams.