Local 4-H'ers compete in livestock shows

Andrew Green
4-H'ers present at the swine show.

The 2017 Iberville/ West Baton Rouge Parish Livestock Show Team consists  of 4-H’ers in grades 4-12 who exhibit rabbits, poultry, goats, sheep, swine and cattle during a series of livestock shows and are off and running in their 2017 campaign.

The purpose of the 4-H livestock program is to provide opportunities for young people to develop character and life skills. Livestock exhibitors gain knowledge on animal husbandry that includes selection, genetics, nutrition, health, fitting, showing, economics, and marketing. These youth also develop life skills, such as communication, leadership, cooperation, discipline, responsibility, and financial management.

The Iberville/West Baton Rouge Livestock Show Team competed at Parish 4-H Livestock Show at the Louis Mouch Multipurpose Arena in West Baton Rouge on Jan. 20-21.  The team will progress to compete in the Acadiana District Livestock Show at Blackham Coliseum in Lafayette, La. on Feb. 1-4 and the LSU AgCenter Jr. Livestock Show at the Lamar Dixon Expo Center in Gonzales, La. from Feb. 11-18.

“Through their 4-H Livestock Projects, 4-H members have opportunities to develop positive leadership skills, communication skills, work ethic, responsibility, patience and perseverance,” Associate 4-H Agent Christina Hebert said.  “The exhibitors are able to practice these life skills with support and guidance from their families, local volunteers, 4-H Agents, and their Agricultural teacher.”

2017 Iberville Livestock Exhibitors:  

Crescent Elementary: Alyssa Crawford; 

Iberville Math, Science & Arts Academy– West: Bryce Babin, Jace Coupel, Morgan Crawford, Albert Deville, Luke George, Lainey Irwin, Alexis Joffrion, Hayden Millien, Hunter Millien, Hunter Monismith, Paul Ponthieux; 

North Iberville: Brandon Joffrion, Brealyn Joffrion; 

Plaquemine High School: Alice Cochran, Daniel Easterly, Clayton Easterly, Caleb Falcon, Chance Hracek, Raylan Hracek; 

St. John: Gabrielle Deslatte, Amanda Distefano, Brady Gourgues,  Stevie LeJeune, Austin Purpera, Baylie Romero, Gracie Romero; 

Member at Large: Ella Latiolas