Pointe Coupee Electric Board Members re-elected

Staff Writer
Plaquemine Post South
George G. LaCour, Jr. of District 3

Incumbents George G. LaCour, Jr. of District 3 and Peter Rumfola, Jr. of District 5 were recently re-elected to serve on the Pointe Coupee Electric Membership Corporation’s (PCEMC) Board of Directors. During the business session of Pointe Coupee Electric’s 78th Annual Membership Meeting, CPA John Morrison announced the results of the first board election for the cooperative in the past 25 years. The independently certified results indicated that incumbent District 3 Director George LaCour defeated challenger Albert “Dewey” Dukes and was returned to the Board.

PCEMC’s General Manager, Myron A. Lambert congratulated LaCour on his re-election and also congratulated Dukes for making the effort to participate in the democratic process that governs the member-owned electric cooperative.

Incumbent Director Peter Rumfola ran unopposed in District 5. Both board members began their new three-year terms at the meeting of the board immediately following the cooperative’s Annual Membership Meeting held on Wednesday, January 25, 2017.   The directors are elected by members from the seven districts comprising the service area of Pointe Coupee Electric. Directors must be Pointe Coupee Electric members who reside in the district they represent.

The seven directors comprising the Pointe Coupee Electric Board are responsible for managing the business and affairs of the electric cooperative. They exercise all of the powers of the cooperative except such as are by law, the Articles of Incorporation or the cooperative by-laws conferred upon or reserved to the members.

Pointe Coupee Electric is your local electric cooperative that has been providing services in Iberville, Pointe Coupee and West Baton Rouge parishes for 78 years.