Students represent Iberville Parish at 4-H University

Staff Writer
Plaquemine Post South
From the left top row: Luke Leblanc, Kejuan Washington (volunteer chaperone), Conrad Tempanaro, Elise Jackson, and Sophie Doss. Middle row: Kayra Harrell, Shauniece Mitchell, Clay Leblanc, Amanda Distefano, Sydney David, and Kennedy Washington. Back Row: Christina Hebert (4-H Agent), Vianne Leblanc, Margo Crockett, Sophia Tempanaro, Stevie LeJeune, and Hannah Johnson (4-H intern).

Fifteen local 4-H Members represented Iberville Parish at 4-H University, a week-long series of statewide contests at Louisiana State University. Iberville 4-H’ers trained and competed in various contests, such as 4-H Has Talent, Child Development, Forestry, Insect Identification, Soybean Illustrated Talk, Sports Broadcasting and The Next Food Star. In addition to competing in their respective contests, participants also attended various educational programs, such as career development, financial management, digital media, service learning and college preparation.

Seven Iberville Parish 4-H’ers placed in their respective contests. Iberville is proudly represented by a state winning team and several blue ribbon winners. Iberville’s Sports Broadcasting Team placed first. The team included St. John Students Elise Jackson and Conrad Tempanaro, and the contestants won a 4-H Educational Trip to Dallas, Texas.

St. John High School Students Clay LeBlanc and Sophia Tempanaro won a blue ribbon in The Next 4-H Food Star Contest. St. John High School Student Sydney David was a blue ribbon winner in the Forestry Contest.  St. John High School Student Stevie LeJeune took home a blue ribbon in the Insect Identification Contest. 

Iberville Parish 4-H University Delegates:

Iberville Math Science & Arts Academy East: Alexandra Ducote, Vianne Leblanc, and Luke LeBlanc

Iberville Math Science & Arts Academy West: Sophie Doss

Plaquemine High School: Shauniece Mitchell

St. John School: Margo Crockett, Sydney David, Amanda Distefano, Kayra Harrell, Elise Jackson, Clay LeBlanc, Stevie LeJeune, Conrad Tempanaro, Sophia Tempanaro, and Kennedy Washington