Iberville Parish Farm Service Agency announces committee election results

Staff Report

The Iberville Parish U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency announced Dale Purpera Jr. of Plaquemine and Robert Ourso of White Castle were elected to represent their local administrative areas during the recent parish committee election.

"Committee members are a critical component of the day-to-day operations of FSA,” said Martin Fontenot, acting parish executive director. "They help deliver programs at the local level and work to serve the needs of local producers. All recently elected county committee members will take office in January 2022 and will be joining the existing committee.”

Every FSA office is served by a committee made up of local farmers, ranchers and foresters who are elected by local producers. Other members currently serving on the FSA parish committee include Troy Canella, Nicholas Collins, Brady Hurdle, and Makelle Pinsonat.  

Committee members impact the administration of FSA within a community by applying their knowledge and judgment to help FSA make important decisions on its commodity support programs, conservation programs, indemnity and disaster programs, emergency programs and eligibility.

Committee members provide a service to local producers through their decision making and ensure the fair and equitable administration of FSA farm programs in their parishes. They are accountable to the Secretary of Agriculture.

Members conduct hearings and reviews as requested by the state committee, ensure that underserved farmers, ranchers and foresters are fairly represented, make recommendations to the state committee on existing programs, monitor changes in farm programs and inform farmers of the purpose and provisions of FSA programs. They also assist with outreach and inform underserved producers such as beginning farmers, ranchers and foresters about FSA opportunities.