Nov. 6 election decides mayors and aldermen in two municipalities and several School Board members


Voters in Iberville Parish last Tuesday were asked to choose several members of the School Board and the mayors and aldermen in Maringouin and White Castle.

Both municipalities voted for police chiefs in the election as well.

Maringouin’s voters chose Hosea K. Anderson Sr. while voters in White Castle will have to vote in a runoff on Dec. 8 between Harold L. Brooks Jr. and Mario D. Brown Sr.

Anderson garnered 379 votes, or 55 percent of those cast, while his opponents, Daniel T. Dorsey and Sahajda “Wesley” Willis, received 29 percent and 16 percent, respectively.

Elected to serve as the mayor of Maringouin was Maurice Harris by the narrowest of margins, four votes in a 351-347 race. He and his opponent, Demi Lynn Vorise are Democrats.

Out of 10 candidates for the Maringouin Board of Aldermen, voters picked Jerome “Gillis” Martin Jr., Cherise D. Gougisha, Clarence “D-Dot” Wiley, Sam W. Watson and Veronica “Bonnie” Hill.

The race for mayor of White Castle, where incumbent Gerald Williams announced earlier this year he would not seek reelection, the four-candidate race resulted in a runoff.

Facing off on Dec. 8 will be John Morris III, who earned 403 votes, or 40 percent, and Ernest J. “Bay Boy” Allen, who had 242 votes, or 24 percent.

Also in White Castle, voters narrowed a field of seven candidates to five to serve as aldermen — Barbers “Bo” O’Bear, Erick “Duck” Batiste, Melissa Allen and Candice M. Deleon.

The race for police chief in White Castle also ended with a runoff, pitting incumbent Mario D. Brown Sr. against Harold L. Brooks Jr. Only four votes separated the two Democrats – Brown received 475 while Brooks’ total was 479.

Eliminated from the three-man race was Kendall “Jip” Delone, who got four percent of the votes, or 38.

Running a close third was Keisha D. Fleming, who picked up 22 percent of the votes cast with 228, whlle Shalanda Lewis Allen finished fourth with the 127 votes she received, or 13 percent.

The election for members of the Iberville Parish School only included candidates for three of the board’s nine seats, six incumbents having been reelected without opposition.

Those incumbents are Theresa Roy in District A, Melvin Lodge in District B, District D’s Glyna Kelly, Polly Higdon in District E, District F’s Yolanda Laws and Michael Hebert Jr. in District H.

Elected to serve in the School Board’s at-large post was Darlene M. Ourso, who earned her reelection with 62 percent of the votes cast, or 7,059, compared to 4,248 votes cast for her opponent Ferrante T. Dominque.

The District C seat on the board was earned with a landslide, with incumbent board member Pamela “Pam” George garnering 63 percent of the votes, or 1,251, while her opponent, Shanika K. Martin received 732 votes, or 37 percent.

Incumbent Christopher “Chris” Daigle will continue to represent District G, having picked up 54 percent of the votes cast with 1,065. His opponent, Mervin “Merv” Allen Jr., fared well, though, earning 46 percent of the votes or 922, a difference of only 143 votes.