LSWA gives Spencer honorable mention nod

Andrew Green
Hope Spencer

Plaquemine Lady Green Devil Hope Spencer was listed as an honorable mention in the recently released Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-State 4A softball team.

This is just one of the many accolades the standout earned after the close of her senior season.  She was also named a catcher to the 6-4A All-District first team and the 2017 All-Parish softball team.

Hope helped her Green Devil squad earn a 6-2 record in district play in the 2017 regular season.  Spencer and her team dominated district rivals Livonia, Tara and Woodlawn and their only two district losses came to 6-4A winner St. Michael. 

Their regular season record earned the Lady Devils the No. 18 seed in the 4A playoffs.  They were shutout in round one, however, to No. 15 Tioga bringing their season to a close.

Spencer is the only softball player given a LSWA nod this season.  The full 4A LSWA roster follows:

P       Lauren Parson   DeRidder        Jr.     31-5

P       Shelby Carlson  West Ouachita   So.     17-12

P       Emma Callie Delafield   North DeSoto    Sr.     23-3

P       Kennedy Hebert  Morgan City     Sr.     25-4

C       Samantha Conley Lakeshore       Sr.     .423

IF      Bryley Rodriguez        Beau Chene      Sr.     .420

IF      Katelyn Norse   St. Thomas More Sr.     .414

IF      Christie Runnels        Cabrini         Sr.     .493

IF      Bayli Simon     North DeSoto    Sr.     .471

OF      Kaylea Godron, Grant    Jr.     .393

OF      Kailey LeFrere  DeRidder        Jr.     .480

OF      Maicey Spillers West Ouachita   So.     .366

UTL     Sarah Koeppen   Benton  Sr.     .464

UTL     Taylor Christian        North DeSoto    So.     .440

UTL     Lorin Martin    Teurlings Catholic      Jr.     10-1

UTL     Kaytlon Ward    Grant   Jr.     23-7

UTL     Lauren Bloomer  Neville Jr.     12-6



Honorable mention: Olivia Brown, Ursuline; Emma Autin, Lakeshore; Kaitlyn Dalferes, Lakeshore; Hanna Miller, Academy of Our Lady; Cailey Folse, Academy of Our Lady; Mackenzi David, Teurlings Catholic; Hope Spencer, Plaquemine; Scottie Metrejean, Morgan City; Kelsie Authement, South Terrebonne; McKenzi Authement, South Terrebonne; Kassi Leonard, Assumption; Emily John, Assumption; Sara Gros, Assumption; Emily Blanchard, Assumption; Keyana Poteat, Leesville; Erin Lewis, Leesville; Amber Coons, Neville; Brooklyn Sweeney, Belle Chasse; Kelsey Mobley, Grant; Sam Eckert, West Ouachita; Gracie Daigrepont, Tioga; Jordie Wilhite, West Ouachita; Aubrey Joslin, DeRidder; Sydney Webster, North DeSoto; Hallie Saintignan, Benton; Makenzie Chaffin, Benton; Taylor Cobb, DeRidder.