LSU's Nola, Bregman highlight All-SEC team

Staff Writer
Plaquemine Post South
Aaron Nola

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - A school-record five LSU Tigers were named Tuesday to the first-team all-SEC squad in a vote of the league's 14 head baseball coaches. Senior first baseman Mason Katz, senior outfielder Raph Rhymes, junior third baseman Christian Ibarra, sophomore pitcher Aaron Nola and freshman shortstop Alex Bregman each received first-team all-conference recognition.

Nola was voted the SEC Pitcher of the Year and Bregman was named SEC Freshman of the Year.

LSU junior second baseman JaCoby Jones was named second-team all-SEC, and Katz and Ibarra were voted to the SEC all-Defensive team. Bregman was named to the Freshman all-SEC squad.

Vanderbilt's Tony Kemp was selected 2013 SEC Baseball Player of the Year, and Vanderbilt's Tim Corbin was voted SEC Coach of the Year. Sam Frost of Mississippi State was named SEC Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The five first-team players for LSU surpasses the previous school mark of four first-team all-SEC selections set in 1990.

Nola, a right-hander from Baton Rouge, is the second LSU hurler to be named SEC Pitcher of the Year, joining right-hander Louis Coleman in 2009. Nola is 10-0 this season with a 1.94 ERA, and he has recorded 105 strikeouts in 102 innings.

Bregman, a product of Albuquerque, N.M., is the fourth LSU player to earn SEC Freshman of the Year recognition, joining pitcher Matty Ott (2009), pitcher Lane Mestepey (2001) and second baseman Mike Fontenot (2000). Bregman is hitting a team-best .378 this season with 16 doubles, seven triples, five homers, 49 RBI and 14 stolen bases.

Katz, a native of Harahan, is hitting .377 with 12 doubles, two triples, 14 homers and 64 RBI. The all-SEC honor marks the third straight season in which Katz has received an all-conference designation, as he was voted second-team all-SEC in 2011 and 2012.