LSU's Nola selected state's top amateur athlete

Staff Writer
Plaquemine Post South
LSU pitcher Aaron Nola throws last season. Nola was recently selected the top male amateur athlete in the state and presented the James J. Corbett Award. 
POST SOUTH PHOTO/Peter Silas Pasqua

NEW ORLEANS - Aaron Nola, the ace pitcher for the LSU baseball team, has been selected as the 2012-13 male winner of the James J. Corbett Award by the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

The Corbett Awards are presented annually to the top male and female amateur athletes in the state of Louisiana. They are selected by the Greater New Orleans Sports Selection Committee, a group of current and former media members who select the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame, as well as annual award winners in a variety of categories, including the Corbett Awards and the Eddie Robinson Award.

Nola was recognized along with 25 other individuals and two teams at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Banquet on Saturday, Aug. 10, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

After a solid freshman campaign, Aaron Nola quickly established himself as one of the top pitchers in the nation during his sophomore year on the mound for LSU baseball.

The right-hander helped the Tigers to an unprecedented 57-11 season mark, the SEC Tournament championship, a No. 1 ranking in the nation and a trip to the College World Series. The Baton Rouge native was the hammer of the Tigers' staff posting a 12-1 overall mark with a 1.57 ERA walking a mere 18 hitters.

"Aaron Nola is an outstanding young man and an amazing pitcher, and he certainly deserves this very prestigious award," said LSU coach Paul Mainieri. "He is a tremendous representative of our program and of the state of Louisiana, and all of us at LSU are extremely proud of his achievements."

The Catholic High School product was a First-Team All-American, the District VII Player of the Year (by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association), the SEC Pitcher of the Year and an easy choice as the Louisiana Pitcher of the Year. He was also one of three finalists for this season's Pitcher of the Year awarded by College Baseball Hall of Fame Foundation.