UL's Alonzo Harris named to Doak Walker Award Watch List

Special to the Advertiser
UL running back Alonzo Harris was third in the Sun Belt Conference in rushing last season while setting a career best with 942 yards and 14 touchdowns.

DALLAS – Senior Alonzo Harris became the seventh UL Ragin' Cajuns football player to be selected to a preseason list when he was one of 53 players named on Thursday as the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced the preseason candidates for the 2014 Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation's top college running back.

Harris, from Gadsden, Ala., earned first-team All-Sun Belt Conference honors in 2013 after finishing third in the league and setting career-best with 942 yards and 14 touchdowns. He posted three consecutive 100-yard rushing games during the season, beginning with a season-high 115 yards and two touchdowns in a Sun Belt Conference victory at Western Kentucky.

He added 105 yards one week later in a win at Arkansas State before rushing for 105 yards and school-record tying five touchdowns in a 49-35 homecoming win over New Mexico State. Harris capped off the season with 74 yards and a touchdown in a 24-21 victory over Tulane in the R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl

Harris, the 2011 Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year and a two-time All-Conference selection, enters the 2014 season ranked third in school history in rushing touchdowns (32), fourth in rushing yards (2,523) and fifth in attempts (532).

Harris joins quarterback Terrence Broadway (Davey O'Brien Award), receiver Jamal Robinson (Biletnikoff Award), offensive lineman Daniel Quave (Lombardi Award), offensive lineman Mykhael Quave (Lombardi Award), defensive lineman Justin Hamilton (Lombardi Award) and linebacker Dominique Tovell (Lombardi Award) as Ragin' Cajuns named to a preseason watch list.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the semifinalists on November 18, with the finalists to be announced on November 24. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on December 1 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2014 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11, on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas, Texas, in February 2015.

The award, in its 25th year, is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.