High school boxing Hall of Fame induction June 28

Staff Writer
Plaquemine Post South
Tommy Gascon

BATON ROUGE - Thirty-two new members have been selected for induction into the Louisiana High School Boxing Hall of Fame on June 28.

The event will start at 2 p.m. at the Sunset Events Center in Sunset.

Thirty-three former boxers and coaches made up the first hall of fame class a year ago. The event is sponsored by the Louisiana High School Boxing Association.

Heading the list of 2014 inductees are four national champions and six who were named the outstanding boxer at the state tournament.

Tickets for the event are $15 each. For information contact Bobby Dupre at (337) 945-4010 or Don Landry at (225) 766-7349.

National champions being recognized are Jordan Boudreaux and Harold Lee Landry of Scott and Donald Fourroux and Donald Gascon of Plaquemine.

Winners of the Brink’s Trophy - given to the outstanding boxer at the state tournament - selected for induction are Lawrence Harmon and Eric Leger of Opelousas, Clarence Thibodaux of LaGrange High (Lake Charles), Eldridge Courrege and Bobby Broussard of New Iberia and Ralph Webb of Crowley.

Two-time state champions going in are Gilbert Bonin of Loreauville, Chester Carville of Catholic High (Baton Rouge), Dowell Fontenot of Vidrine, Jerry Besson of Plaquemine, Donald Stephenson and Achille Vidrine of Sacred Heart-Ville Platte, Don Stevens of Oak Grove, George Hanks and Harold Smith of Crowley, Donald Fontenot and Glynn Fontenot of LaGrange (Lake Charles), Donald Rills and Curtis Latiolais of Opelousas, Tyson Foreman of St. Joseph (Rayne), Pat Soileau of St. Edmund (Eunice), Winston Broussard of New Iberia and Donald Hebert of Milton.

Also to be inducted are Calvin Clary of Opelousas and Bobby Freeman of Plaquemine, along with coaches Jim Williams of New Iberia, J. L. McKenzie of Oak Grove and Jack Reed of Sacred Heart (Ville Platte).