Post South unveils its All-Parish baseball team

Andrew Green
East Iberville utility player Blake Barbay. Photos by Andrew Green.

The baseball season was a big success in Iberville Parish, and as a result, many of the most talented area baseball players made the Post South's All-Parish baseball team.

St. John had the most successful season of the four teams as they went 18-10 during the regular season. This included a 9-1 stretch in league play that awarded them the District 6-1A championship.

In their district title run, they swept defending champion Ascension Catholic. One of those victories came by a dominating score of 14-4.

The Eagles entered the Division IV playoffs as the No. 7 seed, but they were upset in the opening round by Houma Christian--an eventual state semifinalist.

Plaquemine went just 11-19 during in the regular season, but once the postseason began, they caught fire.

The Green Devils upset fifth-seeded North Desoto in the opening round, and they took a 1-0 lead in their second-round series against No. 21 Salmen. Though, Salmen went on to win two straight and eventually reached the semifinals.

East Iberville experienced a tremendous program resurgence as they went 10-10 during the regular season and made the playoffs. They beat parish and district rival White Castle in the opening round to advance, but their season was then ended by eventual state champion LaSalle.

Here is the Post South's All-Parish baseball team:

All-Parish First Team:

P - Landon Leblanc, St. John

P - Dylan Hurst, St. John

C - Izack Bailey, East Iberville

IF - Dwayne Askins, Plaquemine

IF - Justin Rivet, St. John

IF - Bryce Purpera, East Iberville

IF - Luke Graves, Plaquemine

OF - Tre Dupont, St. John

OF - Adam Blanchard, St. John

OF - Joe Hamilton, Plaquemine

UTL - Blake Barbay, East Iberville

UTL - Jacob Allen, Plaquemine

UTL - Darian Pierce, White Castle

All-Parish Second Team:

P - Michael Sproles, Plaquemine

P - Jake Harelson, East Iberville

C - Ben Bucher, St. John

IF - Reese Barrilleaux, St. John

IF - Lathan Babin, Plaquemine

IF - Albert Deville, Plaquemine

IF - Mason Landry, Plaquemine

OF - Gage Vidrine, Plaquemine

OF - Princeton Young, White Castle

OF - Keneth Baker, White Castle

UTL - Kaylon York, East Iberville

UTL - Herman Christophe, Plaquemine

UTL - Grant Blanchard, St. John

Pitcher of the Year: Landon Leblanc, St. John

MVP: Dylan Hurst, St. John

Coach of the Year: Chris Harrell, St. John