Johnson headlines All-District 6-4A team

Plaquemine head basketball coach Donald Ray Johnson coaches against Tara earlier in the season. Johnson was recently selected District 6-4A Coach of the Year. 
POST SOUTH PHOTO/Peter Silas Pasqua

PLAQUEMINE – Plaquemine Senior High School won the District 6-4A title in coach Donald Ray Johnson’s first year.

Johnson was recently chosen Coach of the Year after leading the Green Devils to the district championship with a 7-1 mark and finishing 20-11 overall after advancing to the Class 4A regionals.

Senior Demetrius Franklin was selected Defensive MVP and junior Devante Marshall and sophomore Clifton Young were each chosen to the first team.

Earning second team for the Green Devils was junior Louis Conerly. Junior Cameron Garner was selected honorable mention.

Marshall averaged 12.5 points, eight rebounds and two blocks per game, while Young averaged 12 points and six rebounds.

Conerly averaged 10 points and three rebounds, Garner had seven points and two steals and Franklin had four points and three steals.

Tyrain Davis of Tara was chosen Most Valuable Player.