Louisiana Sports Writers Association Class C all-state high school basketball teams for 2022

Daniel Green
Written for the LSWA

Atlanta's Princis Goff and Jehovah-Jireh's John-Paul Ricks carried their respective teams throughout the 2021-22 campaign.

Goff led her squad to the brink of an LHSAA state tournament berth. Ricks guided his team to a runner-up finish in Division V.

As a result, Goff and Ricks claimed Outstanding Player honors on the Class C All-State basketball teams selected by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Goff was the primary scorer and rebounder for an Atlanta team that lost in the Class C quarterfinals to eventual runner-up Gibsland-Coleman. Goff eclipsed the 1,000-point mark during her senior season, averaging 36 points, 19 rebounds, five assists and four steals. On the season, she registered eight 40-point games and two where she scored 50 or more.

GIRLS BASKETBALL PREDICTIONS:Predicting every 2022 LHSAA high school girls basketball state champion

BOYS BASKETBALL PREDICTIONS:Predicting the LHSAA high school boys basketball state champions for 2022

NO GYM, NO PROBLEM:Why a No. 1-ranked Louisiana girls basketball team has practiced on a dirt court all season

Ricks powered Jehovah-Jireh once again. The 6-foot senior averaged 28 points, eight rebounds, seven assists and five steals as he took his squad to the title game in Division V for the sixth straight year. The Warriors were the runner-up to Family Christian.

Hornbeck's Matthew Killian and Family Christian's Isaac Fontenot-Amedee were honored as the Coach of the Year winners.

Killian guided the Hornet girls to a 22-12 record and the LHSAA tourney, where they lost to eventual champion Hicks. Killian, a Hornbeck graduate, led the school to its first semifinal berth in over a decade,  led by all-state selection Hannah Dahlhoff.

Fontenot-Amedee coached Family Christian to a Division V championship in his first season with brothers Bryson and Chance Martin, who both made the Class C squad, playing major roles. It was FCA’s first LHSAA title since 2002.

Class C state champions Hicks and Gibsland-Coleman each landed two players on the squads.



First team

John-Paul Ricks, Jehovah Jireh, 6-0, Sr., 28.0

Terrance James, Gibsland-Coleman, 6-4, Jr., 21.0

Bryson Martin, Family Christian, 5-10, Sr., 18.0

Joseph Adams, Calvin, 5-10, Sr., 28.0

Derwin Ancar, Phoenix, 6-2, Jr., 20.0

Second team

Chance Martin, Family Christian, 5-10, Jr., 14.0

Braxton Basco, Simpson, 5-10, Sr., 16.0

Brady Alexander, Hornbeck, 6-2, Jr., 18.0

Dontarias Coleman, Gibsland-Coleman, 6-6, Sr., 15.0

Wayne Curtis Huckaby, Calvin, 5-10, Sr., 18.0

Outstanding Player: John-Paul Ricks, Jehovah-Jireh

Coach of the Year: Isaac Fontenot-Amedee, Family Christian

Honorable mention: A.J. Allen, Claiborne Christian; Brayden Cutts, Simpson; Quay Seaberry, St Joseph-Plaucheville; Jaggar Thibodeaux, Northside Christian; Tyren Johnson, Plainview; C.J. Scott, Pleasant Hill; Rondell Battle, Phoenix; Jaren Mitcham, Hornbeck.


First team

Princis Goff, Atlanta, 5-8, Sr., 36.0

Lauren Quinn, Hicks, 5-10, Sr., 20.0

Samora Sampson, Gibsland-Coleman, 6-1, Fr., 22.0

Malaysia Tate, Summerfield, 5-6, Sr., 24.0

Hannah Dahlhoff, Hornbeck, 5-10 Sr., 18.0

Second team

Avery Coffman, Hicks, 5-7, Sr., 15.0

Lexy Robinson, Claiborne Christian, 5-11, Jr., 12.0

Lauren Rachal, Family Christian, 5-5, So., 16.0

Zoey Fee, Plainview, 5-0, Sr., 15.0

Riley Haus, Evans, 5-6, Jr., 17.0

Outstanding Player: Princis Goff, Atlanta

Coach of the Year: Matt Killian, Hornbeck

Honorable mention: Jamiya Addison, Phoenix; Kennedie Harrison, Starks; Hope Cauthron, Reeves; Olivia Rabalais, St Joseph’s-Plaucheville; Camryn Cartinez, Ebarb; Ke’Honesty Williams, Gibsland-Coleman; Alaysia Combs, Summerfield; Emily Head, Claiborne Christian.