LHSAA announces nine football divisions

Staff Writer
Plaquemine Post South

BATON ROUGE - The Louisiana High School Athletic Association announced last week at its annual summer meeting that it will play four additional state championships for a total of nine state football championships in 2013.

In addition to its 1A, 2A, 3A, 4A and 5A state football championships, the LHSAA has added four additional state championships for its select schools.

Class 1A, 2A and 5A select schools will play in Division IV, Division III and Division I postseason brackets, respectively, and classes 3A and 4A select schools will be combined into one Division II football playoff bracket.

Select schools will continue to play their regular seasons in the current district and classification system before participating in the newly adopted four playoff divisions.

A select admission school is a public or non-public school that has an admission policy to select the students who attend the school. Earlier this year at the LHSAA's annual convention, the LHSAA member school principals voted that select admission schools would include all non-public schools, university laboratory schools, magnet schools and dual-curriculum schools that include at least 25% of their enrollment as select admission students who do not live in the designated attendance zone.