Bulldogs, Eagles land seven on All-District 8-1A first team

PETER SILAS PASQUA ppasqua@postsouth.com
White Castle's Dontrell Taylor rushes against Ascension Catholic earlier in the season. Taylor was recently selected to the District 8-1A first team at running back and kick returner. 
POST SOUTH PHOTO/Peter Silas Pasqua

PLAQUEMINE - White Castle and St. John the Evangelist High Schools each faced adversity through the season but both found themselves playing their best football toward the end when it counts.

The Bulldogs advanced to the nonselect quarterfinals finishing 8-5 overall and 3-2 in District 8-1A play under coach Lamar Thomas while placing seven players on the All-District first-team.

The Eagles made it to the select regionals ending the season with a 4-8 overall record while going 3-2 in district under coach Oliver "Crickett" Crockett and placing seven players on the first-team.

East Iberville advanced to the postseason for the first time since 1999 and just the third time ever despite going winless under coach John Young.

Earning first-team honors for White Castle was Dontrell Taylor at both running back and kick returner, Robert Franklin at receiver, Daryl Young at athlete, Brian Jenkins at offensive guard, Jared Little at defensive line and Moses Young at defensive back.

Selected to the first-team from St. John was athlete Hunter Schnebelen, defensive lineman John Morgan Romig, linebacker Nicholas Lefebvre, defensive back Bailey Whittington, offensive tackle Peyton Voisin, kicker Tyler St. Germain and flex player Brandon Noel.

Earning second-team honors from White Castle was Byron Pierre at both defensive back and receiver, Andre Prevost at both offensive and defensive line, Daniel Edwards at defensive line, Harold Zachary and Marlin Lewis at defensive back, Brandon Foster and Jared Jones at linebacker and Gentil Nicholas at center.

Joseph Bailey was selected to the second-team at running back for East Iberville. Honorable mention picks include offensive linemen Reggie Brock and Taylor Graf, quarterback Junius Chong, running back Khris Grace, athlete Shawn Griffin, wide receiver Devin Johnson, linebacker Daijail Arthur and defensive back Mark Tasker.

Honorable mention selections for White Castle include quarterback Jacory Jones, running back Tyidous Lang and offensive linemen Donte Young, Bryan Thomas and Isaiah Allen.

Taylor rushed for 973 yards and five touchdowns on 116 attempts, while Young carried 82 times for 520 yards and five scores.

Franklin had 30 receptions for 500 yards and six touchdowns and Bailey rushed for 487 yards on 114 attempts.