Post South unveils All-Parish softball team

by Andrew Green
Plaquemine catcher Hope Spencer was named one of the Parish MVPs. Photos by Andrew Green.

It was a tremendously successful season for Iberville Parish softball as all four high-school teams made the postseason.

The best finishes came from both St. John and Plaquemine.

St. John went 13-12 during the regular season. This included a 12-5 finish in their final 17 games, after beginning the year at just 1-7.

The Lady Eagles went 6-2 in District 6-1A play and finished as runner-up to Ascension Catholic.

St. John made the Division IV playoffs as the No. 10 seed, but they lost a tough one-run contest to St. Mary's in the opening round.

Plaquemine finished the regular season with an 11-11 record, despite an 0-7 start to the year.

They went 6-2 in district play and reached the postseason, before losing to 15th-seeded Tioga on the road.

Both White Castle and East Iberville were able to make the Class 1A playoffs, before being eliminated in the opening round.

White Castle lost their first-round game to No 14 Merryville, and East Iberville lost to ninth-seeded Oberlin.

Here is the Post South's All-Parish Softball Team:

All-Parish First Team:

P - Monica Rivet (St. John)

P - Madison Hebert (Plaquemine)

C - Hope Spencer (Plaquemine)

IF - Caroline Zeringue (Plaquemine)

IF -McKenzie Richard (St. John)

IF - Alise Wille (St. John)

IF - Claire Blanchard (Plaquemine)

OF - Amber Granger (Plaquemine)

OF - Madison Young (St. John)

OF - Ja’Myra Richard (Plaquemine)

UTL - Emily Falencki (Plaquemine)

UTL - Kelsey Leblanc (St. John)

UTL - Haley Landry (Plaquemine)

All-Parish Second Team:

P - Brooklyn Falcon (White Castle)

P - Samantha Landry (St. John)

C - Kaylee Sadden (St. John)

IF - Shamyra Stevenson (White Castle)

IF - Jakayla Washington (White Castle)

IF - Kynlee Leblanc (St. John)

IF - Grace Acosta (St. John)

OF - Tahlor Haynes (White Castle)

OF - Tyshai Rome (White Castle)

OF - Taylor Vince (St. John)

UTL - Eltonia Martin (Plaquemine)

UTL - Elise Jackson (St. John)

UTL - Doretha Dixon (East Iberville)

Pitchers of the Year: Monica Rivet (St. John) and Madison Hebert (Plaquemine)

MVPs: Hope Spencer (Plaquemine) and Alise Wille (St. John)

Coaches of the Year: Cindy Prouty (St. John) and Hunter Markins (Plaquemine)